Tiger Woods was on his way to a decent round Friday when he hit this, his second shot on the 15th hole.

Mike Segar / Reuters

When his shot (incredibly) hit the flag and rolled into the drink, he was assessed a stroke penalty. The rules state he must then place the ball as close as to the original spot and hit it again.

His drop, it seems, was two yards behind his original divot. (He was, in essence, hitting a longer shot now.)

Charlie Riedel / AP

Here’s a clearer side-by-side, via Deadspin.

Well, some guy at home who was watching on TV called the Masters — you can do that? — and alerted them that the drop may have been illegal.

Mike Ehrmann / Getty Images

They reviewed the drop and ruled there was no infraction. Woods finished his round, signed his scorecard, and everything seemed to be fine.

Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Curtis Compton / AP

Until, that is, Woods gave his post-round press conference and actually said he played two yards behind the original spot.

Phil Noble / Reuters

This morning, Woods met with course officials and was given a two-stroke penalty. He was not disqualified because course officials had already ruled once (yesterday) that there was no issue.

Jeff Siner/Charlotte Observer / MCT

And the Masters even sent out an official statement explaining the whole debacle.

It reads:

Yesterday afternoon, the Rules Committee was made aware of a possible Rules violation that involved a drop by Tiger Woods on the 15th hole.

In preparation for his fifth shot, the player dropped his ball in close proximity to where he had played his third shot in apparent conformance with Rule 26. After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 8th hole. At that moment and based on that evidence, the Committee determined he had complied with the Rules.

After he signed his scorecard, and in a television interview subsequent to the round, the player stated that he played further from the point than where he had played his third shot. Such action would constitute playing from the wrong place.

The subsequent information provided by the player’s interview after he had completed play warranted further review and discussion with him this morning. After meeting with the player, it was determined that he had violated Rule 26, and he was assessed a two stroke penalty. The penalty of disqualification was waived by the Committee under Rule 33 as the Committee had previously reviewed the information and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player’s round.

Fred Ridley
Chairman, Competition Committees

Via Twitter: @ronsirak

To recap, Woods technically ratted on himself, but some random TV viewer at home started this weird chain of events. Now, Woods starts today at -1, five strokes off the lead.

Mike Segar / Reuters

Read more: http://buzzfeed.com/erikmalinowski/masters-officials-give-tiger-woods-two-stroke-penalty-after